Descriptive Writing – Tip#1: Avoid Repetition

Descriptive writing is all about describing something. This “something” could be anything ranging from a person to an object to events, memories, places, and just about anything that qualifies as describable.

One of the challenges while writing a descriptive essay or any piece of descriptive writing, is to not be boring. While a lot of us start with great zeal, half way through the essay, we fall short of adjectives which makes the whole describing task seem complicated.

7658254172_091a89cd3b_m

Image courtesy: Flickr

We tend to get repetitive and end up using same words over and over again which makes our writing rather unappealing. It’s hard to say whether it is one’s limited vocabulary or lack of motivation that makes writing seem so difficult.

However, with a little practice, it is possible to write better.

I’ve noticed many of my students make this mistake (of being repetitive) and have tried to help them whenever I can. One such “how do I help my students?” quest led me to a super useful webpage that has this share-worthy piece of information. The following image lists alternative words that can be used while writing a descriptive essay:

otherwaystosay

Image courtesy: anabuenoeoi

So the next time around when you’re working on a descriptive essay and find yourself  wondering: Is there a better word to describe this?, I hope this list proves to be useful.

Happy writing!

2 thoughts on “Descriptive Writing – Tip#1: Avoid Repetition

  1. Thanks for the resource, Sophia. A couple of other writing tips are:
    A- Use strong verbs instead of modified weak verbs. Adverbs are no substitute for expressive, active verbs.
    B- Wherever possible, use the active voice instead of the passive. Now, that’s a hard one, as most people cannot easily grasp the difference.
    C- Anyone who wants to take their writing beyond the “assignment” level should read style guides, because a solid, flowing style will keep their readers reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sophia says:

      Hello and welcome aboard! 🙂

      Thanks a ton for sharing super useful tips!

      My students come to me with doubts all the time and I thought cataloging my thoughts will help me help them better.

      This is the first post of the series. I’ll be sharing more tips soon.

      Mind if I include your tips (with due credit) in my next post? Let me know.

      Thanks again! See you around.

      Like

Leave a Reply

